List of Governor General of Bengal UPSC JKSSB JKPSC

study material

List of Governor General of Bengal UPSC JKSSB JKPSC

List of Governors-General of Bengal

Governor-General of Bengal & Important Events

The first Governor-General of Bengal was Warren Hastings with tenure of office from 1772-1785. Warren Hastings was an English statesman, the head of the Supreme Council of Bengal. He brought an end to the Dual Government system by enforcing the Regulating Act of 1773. He founded the Calcutta Madrasa for the promotion of Islamic studies, and the Asiatic Society of Bengal with William Jones in the year 1781 and 1784 respectively. Hastings was also elected as a fellow of the Royal Society in 1801.

Charter Act of 1833 made Governor-General of Bengal as Governor-General of British India. And, William Bentick was the first Governor-General of British India.

More such information on different list of Viceroys in India along with the major reforms brought by them are given below in the form of a list.

Year Governor-General of Bengal Major Reforms & Events
1772-1785 Warren Hastings
  • First Governor-General of Bengal
  • End to the dual system of administration
  • Regulating Act of 1773
  • Supreme Court at Calcutta
  • Asiatic Society of Bengal
  • First Anglo-Maratha War and Treaty of Salbai
  • First English translation of Bhagavad Gita
  • Pitt’s India Act-1784
1786-1793 Lord Cornwallis
  • Establishment of Appellate courts and lower grade courts
  • Establishment of Sanskrit college
  • Third Anglo-Mysore War and Treaty of Seringapatam
  • Introduction of Permanent Settlement and civil services
1793-1798 Sir John Shore
  • Charter act of 1793
  • Policy of Non-intervention
  • Battle of Kharda
1798-1805 Lord Wellesley
  • Introduction of Subsidiary Alliance System
  • Fourth Anglo- Mysore war and the Treaty of Bassein
  • Second Anglo – Maratha war
  • Establishment of Madras presidency
  • Establishing Fort William College at Calcutta
1805-1807 Sir George Barlow
  • The Acting Governor-General of India until the arrival of Lord Minto,
  • Diminished the area of British territory because of his passion for economy and retrenchment,
  • The Mutiny of Vellore took place in 1806
1807-1813 Lord Minto I
  • Concluded the treaty of Amritsar with Maharaja Ranjit Singh in 1809,
  • Introduced the Charter Act of 1813
1813-1823 Lord Hastings
  • The policy of Non-intervention came to an end


  • third Anglo-Maratha war
  • Abolition of Peshwaship
  • Establishment of the Ryotwari System in Madras (By Thomas Munroe) and Bombay
  • Mahalwari system in north-western Provinces and Bombay
1823-1828  Lord Amherst
  • The annexation of Assam leading to the first Burmese war of 1824,
  • The mutiny of Barrackpore in 1824


List of viceroy of india

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *